Northeast Metro Tech Accepting Nominations for 2018 Hall of Fame Recipients

Northeast Metro Tech
Superintendent David DiBarri
100 Hemlock Road
Wakefield, MA 01880

For Immediate Release

Monday, June 26, 2017

Contact: John Guilfoil
Phone: 617-993-0003
Email: [email protected]

Northeast Metro Tech Accepting Nominations for 2018 Hall of Fame Recipients

WAKEFIELD — School Committee Chairman Deborah Davis of Woburn is pleased to announce that Northeast Metro Tech is accepting nominations for its 2018 Athletic Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

Established in 2015, Northeast’s Hall of Fame recognizes and honors past athletes, coaches, individuals, and teams who made outstanding contributions that brought pride and distinction to the athletic program. Inductees are chosen on a bi-annual basis.

“We’re extremely excited to open nominations for the 2018 Hall of Fame,” Athletic Director Don Heres said. “There have been so many talented athletes, coaches, teams and individuals who have contributed to the success of Northeast’s athletic program. We encourage community members to nominate those, young and old, who have made us proud to be Golden Knights.”

Nominations for the 2018 awards ceremony, which is scheduled to be held in March, are now open. Those interested in submitting someone for the Hall of Fame can do so online here. Applications can also be downloaded and filled out and returned to the school. All nominations are due by Oct. 2 at 6 p.m.

Candidates are eligible to be inducted into the Hall of Fame five years after graduation or five years after leaving the program. Additionally, they must meet the following criteria:

Athlete: Northeast athletes must have earned a varsity letter in a sport they played for at least two years. Candidates will be chosen on the basis of outstanding play, integrity, sportsmanship, character and contribution to the team or teams they played on.

Coach: A coach’s eligibility will be based upon a high degree of competency, leadership and success. Candidates must have contributed toward promoting sound educational values in their athletes. To qualify, coaches must have coached for at least five years at Northeast and coached in the same sport for four years.

Team: An athletic team’s eligibility will be based upon the success of the team. Teams are eligible for induction after the fifth year of the graduation of the senior members of the team.

Significant contributor: Any administrator, athletic trainer, game official or other school supporter who demonstrated tremendous dedication to Northeast’s athletic program, supported the school’s student athletes or brought positive recognition to a team or teams.

The Hall of Fame currently includes 10 members: athlete Pam Shields Eagan, Ed White, Northeast’s first athletic director, John Driscoll, former coach and athletic director, athlete Barry Bilicki, the 1986-87 hockey team and their coach Frank Muse, athlete Mike DeBenedictis, athlete Michael Keith, former coach Tony Cardarelli and athlete John Reynolds.

Those who would like make a donation to the Hall of Fame can make checks payable to Northeast Technical School. They can be mailed to the school, attention Donald Heres, 100 Hemlock Road in Wakefield 01880.