DIGHTON — Chief Christopher Maguy and the Dighton Fire Department would like to offer a few reminders to Dighton residents when registering, applying and paying for their open burning season permits online this year.
Open burning season begins Jan. 15 and runs through May 1. A permit is required to open burn in compliance with Massachusetts law. Burning permits from previous seasons do not carry over from year to year. All residents need to re-apply for a permit online.
Residents who registered through the dighton.firepermits.com portal last year can simply log in and apply for a 2022 burn permit. Those who are new to the portal can begin by creating an account and then applying for a permit. The cost of the permit is $10, and can be paid for online.
Residents will receive an email notifying them when their permit is approved. On any day that a resident plans to burn, the permit must be activated by visiting their dighton.firepermits.com account. When a burn is activated, the department’s dispatch is able to view any open burning location on a map, assisting in public safety and emergency management.
Individuals who don’t have access to a computer should call the Dighton Fire Department at 508-669-6611.
Violations of the permit requirements, open burning law and/or open burning regulations will be grounds for permit revocation. According to Massachusetts law, anyone found burning without a permit may be subject to criminal charges, the punishment for which is a fine of up to $500, plus the cost of suppression or by imprisonment for up to one month, or both.