GEORGETOWN– With warmer weather and drier conditions on the way, Chief Fred Mitchell and the Georgetown Fire Department wish to share outdoor burning safety tips with residents.
“Unattended fires are a tremendous hazard to both you and your community,” Chief Mitchell said. “Please be sure to follow the necessary precautions when burning and if it starts to get out of hand, call 911 immediately.”
Open burning remains in effect until May 1. A burn permit is required to be in compliance with Massachusetts law.
A seasonal permit costs $10. Residents are encouraged to apply for a 2021 burning permit on the online portal here. There is a convenience fee for paying with a credit/debit card or a electronic check online.
Residents also may apply at the Central Fire Station, 47 Central St, during normal business hours. Those who wish to apply for a permit in person are reminded that a face mask or covering will be required both inside and outside of the station. Residents are encouraged to practice social distancing as well.
Each day you wish to burn, you will need to call 1-855-956-2722 to register your intent to burn. As a reminder, the phone number you call from each day you wish to burn must be registered in your account. Information on how to add multiple phone numbers to your account can be found on the Georgetown Fire Department’s website here.
More information about open burning can be found here.
How to safely ignite the fire:
- An adult should always be present during open burning and children and pets should be kept at a safe distance.
- Use paper and kindling to start a fire and add progressively larger pieces of wood. Parts of a leftover Christmas tree also may be used.
- Never use gasoline, kerosene or any other flammable liquid to start a fire. The risk of personal injury in these cases is very high.
- Burn one small pile at a time and slowly add to it. This will help keep the fire from getting out of control.
- Select a location away from utility lines.
- Keep a hose or water supply nearby, as well as shovels or rakes to control the fire.
- Do not leave hot coals smoldering or unattended.
For more information on open burning in Massachusetts, visit Mass.gov.
Violations of the permit requirements, open burning law, and/or open burning regulations will be grounds for permit revocation. According to Massachusetts law, anyone found burning without a permit may be subject to criminal charges, the punishment for which is a fine of up to $500, plus the cost of suppression or by imprisonment for up to one month, or both.
Anyone with questions regarding opening burning should call the Georgetown Fire Department at 978-352-5757.