Medway High School Inducts 52 Students Into National Honor Society

Medway Public Schools
Armand Pires, Superintendent
45 Holliston St.
Medway, MA 02053

For Immediate Release

Friday, Nov. 22, 2019

Media Contact: Benjamin Paulin
Phone: 781-428-3299
Email: [email protected]

Medway High School Inducts 52 Students Into National Honor Society

MEDWAY — Superintendent Armand Pires and Medway High School Principal Dr. John Murray are pleased to announce that 52 Medway High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society (NHS) at an induction ceremony on Tuesday, Nov. 19.

At the ceremony, Superintendent Pires, Dr. Murray, NHS Adviser Andrew Nassiff and NHS President Tessa Pantaleo delivered speeches. There was also a video presentation from current NHS members and each NHS officer said a few words before the new inductees participated in the candle-lighting ceremony.

NHS recognizes students who show outstanding qualities in scholarship, character, leadership and community service. Medway High School juniors and seniors with a 5.6, out of 7.0, weighted GPA are eligible for induction.

Candidates write two essays, one detailing their leadership experience and one detailing their dedication to community service, and must acquire three character references from teachers or community leaders. Candidates submit their portfolio to a Faculty Council, which then selects students who meet the standards of character, leadership and service established by the NHS.

Once Medway students are inducted into the society, they are required to perform 18 hours of community service each semester. Community service projects often include tutoring, coordinating school blood drives or fundraisers, volunteering at the Medway Public Library, providing child care for town events and assisting at school functions such as the Parent-Teacher Night, among many other projects.

“Members of Medway’s National Honor Society demonstrate a commitment to academics, leadership and community service, and are an excellent representation of the traits we value at our school,” Dr. Murray said. “Congratulations to these students on this distinguished achievement.”

The 2019 Medway National Honor Society inductees are listed below:

Class of 2020
Kathryn M. Creonte
Amanda R. Heafey
Caroline B. Murray
Drew R. Plunkett
Erene H. Poktor

Class of 2021
Ryan N. Abbott
Elissa G. Alarmani
Sujith S. Atluri
Joshua T. Auler
Lauren E. Beach
Zaid A. Bhatti
Lindsey E. Blenkhorn
Molly R. Britton
Grace E. Brueckner
William F. Came
Mia I. Cence
Kayla Q. Champagne
Nicholas A. Der Garabedian
Maisie P. Donohue
Sophie L. Donovan
Elizabeth R. Downing
Ellen M. Early
Andrew R. Faichney
Sophia R. Flotta
Marissa S. Galante
Richard D. Halloran
Andrea G. Hester
Maxwell L. Hundertmark
Charlotte J. Kealey
Daniel R. MacDonald
Veronica L. McAdams
Jill C. McElhinney
Cayla I. McGonigle
Alexander M. Morlock
Troy G. Newman
Caitlin I. Nolan
Kaitlyn A. O’Shea
Christian T. Perugini
Katelyn M. Piche
Sreenidhi Ravipati
William P. Reynolds
Abigail T. Ross
Heather M. Scheid
Lauren A. Shea
Michael R. Sheehan
Samuel C. Theodore
Nicholas A. Tomasetti
Maya L. Twamley
Rena M. Weafer
Jessica M. Wong
Lillian A. Woodard
Nicholas V. Zanella