North Reading Police to Undergo Voluntary Assessment for Re-Accreditation


North Reading Police Department
Chief Michael P. Murphy
150 Park St.
North Reading, MA 01864

For Immediate Release

Monday, Sept. 16, 2019

Contact: Kelsey Bode
Phone: 617-993-0003
Email: [email protected]

North Reading Police to Undergo Voluntary Assessment for Re-Accreditation

NORTH READING — Chief Michael Murphy is pleased to announce that a team of assessors from the Massachusetts Police Accreditation Commission (MPAC) is scheduled to arrive on Tuesday, Oct. 8 to begin examining various aspects of the North Reading Police Department’s policies, procedures, operations and facilities.

Verification by the Assessment Team that the Department meets MPAC’s standards is part of a voluntary process to gain or retain state Accreditation — a self-initiated evaluation process by which police departments strive to meet and maintain standards that have been established for the profession, by the profession.

The Massachusetts Police Accreditation Program consists of 257 mandatory standards as well as 125 optional standards. In order to achieve accreditation status, the Department must meet all applicable mandatory standards as well as a percentage of the optional standards. The North Reading Police Department is seeking its third re-accreditation. The North Reading Police Department has been fully accredited by MPAC since 2011.

“Earning re-accreditation is a testament to a department’s dedication to serving its community and providing policing services of the highest quality, and we’re looking forward to the assessment as an opportunity to evaluate ourselves and consider areas for growth,” Chief Murphy said. “The mandatory and optional standards laid out by MPAC are diverse, and take into consideration everything from our very facility to the procedures our department runs by.”

Achieving Accreditation is a highly prized recognition of law enforcement professional excellence. Anyone interested in learning more about this program is invited to email Chief Murphy at [email protected] or a member of the Accreditation Team, Officer James Carcia at [email protected], Sgt. Derek Howe at [email protected] or Sgt. Anthony Morlani at [email protected].