Plymouth County Outreach Honored With National Community Policing Award


Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2018

Media Contact: Benjamin Paulin
Phone: 781-742-3922
Email: [email protected]

Plymouth County Outreach Honored With National Community Policing Award

ORLANDO, FLORIDA — The Police Chiefs of Plymouth County are pleased to announce that Plymouth County Outreach (PCO) was awarded the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) Leadership in Community Policing Award Tuesday night.

Several PCO representatives were in Orlando, Florida on Tuesday to accept the award during the 2018 IACP Annual Conference and Exposition – including many Plymouth County police chiefs, District Attorney Timothy Cruz and Sheriff Deputy Superintendent James Muscato.

The Leadership in Community Policing Award recognizes outstanding community policing initiatives undertaken by law enforcement agencies across the world. The award is given to police agencies whose best practices in community policing utilize collaboration and partnerships to make their communities safer. PCO received the award for its continued, collaborative efforts to combat the opioid epidemic.

“Being recognized among our peer police chiefs from across the country and the world was truly an honor,” said East Bridgewater Police Chief Scott Allen, who attended the event. “Plymouth County Outreach, and the collaborative approach we have taken with our partners in law enforcement, is truly helping to break down the stigma of addiction. It’s an honor to have our efforts and approach recognized as a success.”

The IACP Annual Banquet featured the formal swearing-in of the IACP president and board of officers and the presentation of the Leadership Awards. The a black-tie affair Tuesday night featured music and dancing in the ballroom of the Orange County Convention Center.

The IACP conference was held from Oct. 6-9 and was highlighted by a visit and speech from President Donald Trump on Monday, who heralded the efforts of law enforcement officers and stressed the importance of officer safety.

“We believe Plymouth County Outreach is a vital resource to the residents in our communities and it is our mission to continue to help those struggling with addiction,” said Plymouth Police Chief Michael Botieri, who also attended Tuesday’s ceremony. “Being honored with this award will only strengthen our approach and I look forward to seeing what PCO can accomplish in the future.”

Last week, PCO was awarded a $500,000 grant as part of the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act (CARA) Program through the U.S. Department of Justice. The grant funds will allow PCO to hire two full-time program coordinators and will help to improve its data-collecting and data analyzing capabilities.

Plymouth County Outreach is an opioid prevention and recovery coalition made up of 27 municipal police departments in Plymouth County, along with the Bridgewater State University Police.

In addition to its partners, PCO has a Chiefs Advisory Board that includes Brockton Signature Healthcare’s Dr. Daniel Muse, South Shore Hospital’s Dr. Jason Tracy and Timothy Quigley, Plymouth Public Health Director Dr. Nathaniel Horowitz-Willis and Beth Israel Deaconess-Plymouth’s Dr. Alejandro Dan Mendoza.

About Plymouth County Outreach:

Plymouth County Outreach is a collaborative of police departments throughout Plymouth County led by the following chiefs: Abington Chief David Majenski, Bridgewater Chief Christopher Delmonte, Bridgewater State University Chief David Tillinghast, Brockton Chief John Crowley, Brockton Police Lt. Richard Linehan, Carver Chief Marc Duphily, Duxbury Chief Matthew Clancy, East Bridgewater Chief Scott Allen, Halifax Chief Ted Broderick, Hanover Chief Walter Sweeney, Hanson Chief Michael Miksch, Hingham Chief Glenn Olsson, Hull Chief John Dunn, Kingston Chief Maurice Splaine, Lakeville Chief Frank Alvihiera, Marion Chief John Garcia, Marshfield Chief Phillip Tavares, Mattapoisett Chief Mary Lyons, Middleboro Chief Joseph Perkins, Norwell Chief Ted Ross, Pembroke Chief Richard Wall, Plymouth Chief Michael Botieri, Plympton Chief Patrick Dillon, Rochester Chief Robert Small, Rockland Chief John Llewellyn, Scituate Chief Michael Stewart, Wareham Chief John Walcek, West Bridgewater Chief Victor Flaherty and Whitman Chief Scott D. Benton.