Arlington Police Present Officer of the Year and Employee of the Year Awards

Arlington Seal

Arlington Police Department
Frederick Ryan, Chief of Police
112 Mystic St.
Arlington, MA 02474

For Immediate Release

Monday, Feb. 29, 2016

Contact: Captain Richard Flynn, PIO
Office: 781-316-3907
Cell: 781-844-1224
Email: [email protected]

Contact: John Guilfoil
Phone: 617-993-0003
Email: [email protected]

Arlington Police Present Officer of the Year and Employee of the Year Awards

Officers Recognized During Annual Ceremony

ARLINGTON — Chief Frederick Ryan is pleased to announce that numerous members of the Arlington Police Department were recognized for their commitment and service during an achievement awards ceremony last week.

Police gathered on Thursday, Feb. 25 to recognize the Employee of the Year and Officer of the Year. Chief Ryan also presented an Excellence in Leadership award, Certificates of Commendation, Meritorious Service Ribbons and Life Saving Ribbons.

“I congratulate all officers who were honored for their hard work in 2015,” Chief Ryan said. “The Arlington Police Department is made up of top-notch officers and dispatchers that continuously go above and beyond the call of duty to serve the residents of this community.”

Parking Control Officer Willie Smith earned the Employee of the Year designation. “You have been with the Arlington Police Department for over 10 years and you have proven to be a confident and knowledgeable employee that has quickly become a vital member of the organization,” Chief Ryan said at the event. “You have shown that you can be relied upon to consistently do an outstanding job in the various aspects of your position. Supervisors have commended your ability to use common sense, maintain your composure, and stay focused in a variety of situations, ranging from a disputed parking ticket, to calling in various emergency situations you encounter during your shift.”

Inspector Stephen Porciello was named Officer of the Year. “As an eight year veteran of the Arlington Police Department, with the last three of those years as a member of the Criminal Investigation Bureau, you have consistently displayed the highest quality of service while representing the department,” Chief Ryan said. “You are a true asset to the department and the community. Congratulations on a job well done!”

Lt. Michael Sheehan received the Excellence in Leadership award, which is given to the employee who consistently serves as a role model by displaying exemplary leadership and positive attitude in his/her execution of the department’s values and mission statement. “Lt. Sheehan should be commended for his faithful and conscientious performance of duty and his efforts to affirmatively promote and support the mission of the Arlington Police Department,” Chief Ryan said.

Additionally, the ceremony included:

The Top Gun Award: Captain Richard Flynn

Recognition of Retirement: Officer Robert Gamez

Certificates of Commendation:

  • Officer Bryan White
  • Inspector Chris Gallagher
  • Inspector James Smith
  • Officer John Kelley
  • Officer John Costa
  • Inspector Brian Fennelly
  • Officer Steven Conroy
  • Officer Robert Smith
  • Sgt. Bryan Gallagher
  • Officer Steven Conroy
  • Officer Robert Smith
  • Officer William Milner

Meritorious Service Ribbons:

  • Sgt. Bryan Gallagher
  • Officer Steven Conroy
  • Officer William Milner

Life Saving Ribbons:

  • Dispatcher John R. Plourde
  • Dispatcher Jason Pugliese
  • Officer Dennis Mahoney
  • Officer Robert Smith
  • Officer Brett Blanciforti
  • Officer Scott Paradis
  • Officer Michael Hogan
  • Officer Chadwick Brown
  • Officer Anargyros Siempos